2014 TMMP Results

2014 Trans-Murray Match Play

The inaugural Trans-Murray Match Play was held prior to the 2014 Kelly Gang Shootout on The Old Course at  Cobram-Barooga Golf Club on the 25th of July 2014. Two teams of 17 payers representing  The NSW SGA Tour and The Victorian SGA Tour lined up for a Ryder Cup- style match-play showdown that would be the catalyst for the event to become an annual, three-day golfing extravaganza. Below we see the victorious New South Wales team with the Trans-Murray Match Play Perpetual Trophy (now affectionately known as Muzza).

2014 TMMP Results - NSW 9 def Vic 8

In what was an incredibly close finish, New South Wales prevailed by the tightest of margins, 9 matches to 8. In the marquee match between the two state captains, Matthew Pitt started like a house on fire, winning the first 5 holes to scupper any thoughts Robbie O'Donnell had of victory. Although he fought back valiantly to extend the match, in the finish, the final margin was flattering to the NSW captain. The event was played in a great spirit, with terrific sportsmanship a feature of the day and there were many close and exciting matches. After looking for a long time like the Vics had the edge or even that a tie was possible, the four closest matches decided on the final green that finished ‘1 up’ all went to NSW to secure a NSW victory by the narowest of margins. Below is a complete list of results for the 17 matches played:

Match Result Score
Matthew Pitt (Vic) def Robbie O'Donnell (NSW) Vic 5 and 3
Todd Williams (NSW) v Stefan Diekmann (Vic) H All Square
Shane Morris (Vic) def Nathan Smith (NSW) Vic 2 up
Craig O'Donnell (NSW) def James Farrar (Vic) NSW 1 up
Joe Bugeja (Vic) def Rodney Lumsden (NSW) Vic 2 and 1
Linda Lea (NSW) def Darren Nelson (Vic) NSW 2 and 1
Mark Cullen (Vic) def Scott Williams (NSW) Vic 5 and 3
Paul Volck (NSW) def Wayne Ball (Vic) NSW 1 up
Shaoyu Xue (NSW) vs Bob Spicer (Vic) H All Square
Stuart Read (NSW) def Pete Jensen (Vic) NSW 2 and 1
Glen McGowan (NSW) def Michael Wilcox (Vic) NSW 3 and 1
Bill Read (NSW) def John Smith (Vic) NSW 1 up
Albert Nasralla (NSW) def Richard Fellner (Vic) NSW 1 up
Geoff Flowers (NSW) def Peter Rowe (Vic) NSW 5 and 4
Mark Henderson (Vic) def Mark Eagleston (NSW) Vic 5 and 4
Matthew Thomas (Vic) def Chris Johnston (NSW) Vic 8 and 7
Ian Crotty (Vic) def Andrew Cunneen (NSW) Vic 3 and 2