William Buckley Classic

William Buckley Classic

William Buckley Classic

Teams of two battle for Bushranger-style glory

William Buckley Classic

Grab a mate and battle it out like a pair of Southern Victorian Bushrangers.

One of our long-treasured Open events, the William Buckley Classic is part of our Bushranger Golf series, and features loads of fun, camaraderie, adventure, glory, trophies & prizes, played in spectacular locations like the Mornington Peninsula, Bellarine Peninsula and other quality spots!

Upcoming William Buckley Classic:

2024 William Buckley Classic

Moonah Links. October 12-13, 2024.
Battle for Bushranger Glory in the 2024 William Buckley Classic! Play 36 holes of two-person Ambrose, win great prizes and have heaps of fun!

Recent William Buckley Classic results

The Indented Heads nab 2023 William Buckley Classic

The Indented Heads battled to a nailbiting finish during an massive weekend for the 2023 William Buckley Classic. Notes, Results + Photos

Nailbiting playoff decides 2022 WBC Champs

An exciting 2-team sudden-death playoff decided the champions of the 2022 William Buckley Classic!
2021 William Buckley Classic

Exciting 3-team playoff decides 2021 WBC Champs

An exciting 3-team sudden-death playoff decided the champions of the 2021 William Buckley Classic!

About The William Buckley Classic

Here's everything you need to know about this 36-hole, weekend golfing adventure:

Day 1 (The Advance)

Optional Warm-up (Single Stableford)

Get your weekend started early, (and scout the upcoming field of battle) with an optional warm-up round. We arrange tee-times at a local course, and hold an individual Stableford event, complete with prizes for the day

Day 2 (The Ambush)

Ambrose Stableford (Pairs)

The two-person teams play Two-Ball Ambrose Stableford. A rodeo rule is applied (minimum number of drives).  The day's stableford score is recorded as Round 1.

Day 3 (The Assault)

Ambrose Stableford (Pairs)

Team members battle together (side-by-side!) in an all-out assault, playing two-person team Ambrose Stableford, with a Rodeo rule applied. The day's score is added to Saturday's two pairs' scores to create a two-round total.

The William Buckley Classic Format

  • The William Buckley Classic is a 36-hole siege for teams of two playing two-ball ambrose.
  • Each team will be assigned a handicap by the organisers on the basis of official Australian handicaps and information supplied by the Bushrangers. The handicapper will be governed by a commitment to rewarding good play according to a player’s ability.


  • Each member hits their shot, then chooses the best of the two, and continues play from there. Teams play their chosen best ball on each shot and may place their ball half a club length (about 50cms) from where the chosen ball lay, no nearer the hole. Balls must be placed in the same cut as the chosen ball. In the interests of fast play from tee to green, teams are NOT required to mark with a tee and precisely measure from the chosen ball as they play each shot. Once on the green, Bushrangers should mark near the chosen best ball so both team members play from near enough to the exact same position.
  • The event features a Rodeo Rule, which requires a minimum number of drives for each team member. Each team’s rodeo requirements will appear on their scorecard.
  • Nearest-the-Pin & Longest Drive: will be held as some usual tasty ‘side action’ between teams.


  • In the event of a tie, a sudden-death playoff will be conducted. Teams play together as a twosome (taking alternate strokes playing one ball). Teams can determine the order as each member takes their first shot. This order is then continuous and carries over from one hole to the next until the playoff is decided.

The Criminal Record

Year Team Day One Day Two Total Score Margin
2023 Andrew Murray & Brett Murray 46 points 40 points 86 points - 14 1 shot
2022 Michael O'Sullivan & Rob Fuleky 41 points 39 points 80 points - 8 2-team playoff
2021 Kirk Hayward & Travis Graham 39 points 43 points 82 points - 10 3-team playoff
2020 Ian Steer & Geoffrey Steer 44 points 37 points 81 points - 9 1 shot
2019 Joe Amenta & Jason Pratt 41 points 36 points 77 points - 5 1 shot
2018 Andrew Grant & Yvonne Grant 43 points 38 points 81 points - 9 4 shots
2017 Paul Benson & John Coleman 45 points 41 points 86 points - 14 4 shots
2016 Richard Fellner & Michael Van Raay 39 points 39 points 78 points - 6 4 shots
2015 Adam McCaw & Steven Humphries 43 points 35 points 78 points - 6 2 shots
2014 Nick Mouhtaropoulos & Paul Himarios 43 points 42 points 85 points - 13 2 shots
2013 Neil Hocking & Gavan Doran 38 points 36 points 78 points - 2 1 shot
2012 David Warwick & Matthew Pitt 42 points 35 points 77 points - 5 2 shots
2011 David Warwick & Phil Peacock 44 points 41 points 85 points - 13 4 shots
2010 Matthew Thomas & Rob Lugton 47 points 33 points 80 points - 8 1 shot
2009 Michael Mileo & Michael Van Raay 38 points 41 points 79 points - 7 1 shot
2008 Michael David & Roger Brown 41 points 42 points 83 points - 11 1 shot
2007 Michael David & Roger Brown 40 points 38 points 78 points - 6 1 shot
2006 Michael Mileo & Michael Van Raay 41 points 40 points 81 points - 9 6 shots

History of the William Buckley Classic

The William Buckley Classic was the first weekend social golf event run by SGA (under our Bushranger Golf Brand) open to all golfers to enter. It was an opportunity for mates to get away and have a lash on some great golf courses, playing in a team competition for some fun prizes and a host of bragging rights. The first event was held on the Mornington Peninsula, far from the spiritual home of Bushranger Golf along the Murray. Thus the WBC began a great new tradition for bushranging in the deep south.

Over the years, the event has alternated between the glorious golfing regions of the Mornington Peninsula (Home of Moonah Links, St Andrews Beach, The Dunes and countless others) and the Bellarine Peninsula (Home of 13th Beach, Barwon Heads GC, and others). It continues to be a highly-anticipated event on the SGA Calendar.

William Buckley Classic Sponsors

Srixon Cleveland Golf
Cleveland Golf
Garmin Australia
Heathcote Winery logo
The Card Network Logo
The Card Network

Contact us about The William Buckley Classic