Nailbiting playoff decides 2022 WBC Champs

The Cascades Gatekeepers capture 2022 WBC - William Buckley Classic

Sudden-death team playoff decides the 2022 WBC Champions

For the second consecutive year, a sudden-death playoff provided an exciting finish to a massive week of golf and fun at the 2022 William Buckley Classic.

Played at the Moonah Links Resort on Victoria's Mornington Peninsula, with a tournament record 42 players in the field, the 17th running of the WBC was contested under sunny and warm conditions - perfect for a golf weekend (and better than the rain-soaked east of the country!)

Day 1 ("The Ambush") saw our 21 teams of Bushrangers tee it up at the world-famous Open Course, designed by legendary Australian golfer Peter Thomson as a venue to host the Australian Open. Our two-person Ambrose teams (which were, as usual, all feeling a bit shaky following Friday evening's festivities in the Moonah Links Academy) battled the challenging course as they scrambled for a spot on the leaderboard. When the final putt was drained after day one, The Sullivan Bay Gingerbread Men (Richard Fellner and Wayne Ball) found themselves atop the leaderboard with a massive 42 points. But in one of the closest first-day leaderboards in event history, a massive 11 other teams were within 4 shots of the lead!

Day 2 ("The Assault") saw all 21 teams battling hard to reach the podium. Played on the more "lenient" Legends Course, our teams (which were now feeling the full effects of two full nights of the post-golf festivities) worked their way around the beautiful course.  As always with our Majors, the tee sheets were a seeded draw, meaning that the last-placed teams teed off first, while the leaders teed off last.

When the final putts were holed, and the scorecards tallied (and re-tallied), the leaderboard was seriously jammed at the top -- with the top 10 teams all within 4 shots! It also became apparent that a sudden-death playoff would be required to determine the champions!


The second-ever play-off in WBC history featured drama, action and good-natured fun. Two teams took the stage in Alternate-shot (Foursomes) action as the gallery watched on.

The two teams, The Point Addis Bashers (Ian Steer & Cam Thompson), along with The Cascades Gatekeepers (Michael O'Sullivan & Rob Fuleky - travelling all the way from Bright, Vic) teed off on the first hole of the Legends Course.

After a few nervy tee shots, fairway shots and approaches, both teams found themselves on the edge of the long par-5, with each shot piling the pressure on both the opposing team, but also each other's playing partner!

Showing true grit and determination, both chips/putts found the putting surface, though the Gatekeepers had a slight advantage, being within a few feet of the hole. After valiant efforts by both of the Bashers players fell just short of the hole, Rob Fuleky drained his putt to seal the victory for the Gatekeepers.

See below for Final team scores, video and photo gallery. (or click here to see detailed round-by round scores and stats on our Golf Genius Portal)

Thanks to all who played - it was an exciting and memorable weekend of fun! And thanks to our amazing partners/sponsors: Srixon-Cleveland, Garmin, Heathcote Winery, TCN Gift Cards and Drummond Golf.

(The 2023 William Buckley Classic is in the final planning stages, and will be available for booking soon!)

2022 WBC - Final Scores

(Two-person Team Ambrose)

T1 The Cascades Gatekeepers 80 41 39
T1 The Point Addis Bashers 80 40 40
T3 The Murrangurk Masters 79 35 44
T3 The Sullivan Bay Ginger Bread Men 79 42 37
T5 The Point Lonsdale Cavemen 78 39 39
T5 The Wallarranga Tribe 78 39 39
T5 The Otway Rangers 78 39 39
8 The Port Jackson Labourers 77 39 38
T9 The Bream Creek Freaks 76 40 36
T9 The Barwon Heads Sir Robins 76 38 38
T11 The Cheshire Militia Pivot men 75 35 40
T11 The Pointless Impossibles 75 37 38
T13 The Corio Bay Fugitives 74 35 39
T13 The Mount Defiance Alliance 74 39 35
T15 The Wild White Men 73 33 40
T15 The Port Phillip Procrastinators 73 39 34
T15 The Indented Heads 73 41 32
T18 The Coonewarre Revivors 72 35 37
T18 The Torquay Hookers 72 37 35
20 The Swan Island Hackers 71 33 38
21 The Aireys Inlet Slicers 56 27 29

2022 WBC - Day 1 Photos

2022 WBC Teams

The Swan Island Hackers Rod Welsh Steven Gracev
The Point Lonsdale Cavemen Graham Sherlock Shaun Condron
The Murrangurk Masters Kirk Hayward Travis Graham
The Aireys Inlet Slicers Doug Henderson Peter Dean
The Mount Defiance Alliance Channa De Silva Corey Hovenden
The Indented Heads Marc Borgman Jason Beach
The Coonewarre Revivors Lino Polo Nick Dunbar
The Torquay Hookers Gavan Doran Dean Connell
The Corio Bay Fugitives Peter Calverley Lisa Saunders
The Port Phillip Procrastinators Shane Harwood Bradley Henderson
The Otway Rangers Gavin Tynan Eanna O’Neill
The Pointless Impossibles Fraser Gough Tom Tomlin
The Barwon Heads Sir Robins Jason Pratt Joe Amenta
The Point Addis Bashers Cameron Thompson Ian Steer
The Wallarranga Tribe Matty Thomas Pete Jensen
The Sullivan Bay Ginger Bread Men Graham Ball Richard Fellner
The Cheshire Militia Pivot men Thijs van Berkel Michael Rohan
The Port Jackson Labourers Jeremy O'Sullivan Nathan O'Sullivan
The Bream Creek Freaks Mick David Matthew Pitt
The Cascades Gatekeepers Michael O'Sullivan Rob Fuleky
The Wild White Men Steve Stoward Terry Cooney

The 2022 William Buckley Classic Sponsors

Srixon Cleveland Golf
Cleveland Golf
Garmin Australia
Heathcote Winery logo
The Card Network Logo